Mix & Mash

productiveprofessor

I first embodied the label, “poet activist,” after my victory in a local haiku contest, The Miami Herald Haiku Challenge 2011. I won with a haiku that exposed Florida’s pill mill industry and its connection to Kentucky’s number one cause of death: prescription pain pill overdose. The overdoses are the result of Florida’s I-75, nicknamed “Oxy Express.” Noticeably, I write on what concerns me about this world; remaining loyal to myself, the collection of poetry I currently dwell on huddles closely around the issues I carry in my hands and heart (to see a sample poem, click on the link below). The poetry book not only aims to represent the complexities of the individual in society, but also, it aims to display the relevance of unique, personal and creative expression. Essentially, this project illuminates the following themes: the role of the individual in the context of society and culture, the…

View original post 706 more words

Leave a Reply

